Tags

, ,

We are big movie fans in our house.  I rarely go to the theater anymore to see a movie though because let’s face it, it’s just too expensive. It costs about $75 for our family to go to a movie for the tickets, popcorn, drinks and candy. All to go see a movie that in about 4-6 months will come out on video.

Now yes I admit, there are movies that deserve to be seen on the big screen. I was one of the idiots standing in line at midnight to go see New Moon when it came out. I saw all the Harry Potter movies either the day they came out, or the night before. Same for the Lord of the Rings movies. Haven’t seen Avitar yet but probably will this weekend. In 3-D IMAX just to get the full effect. And who could resist a girls night out to see Robert Downy Jr. as Sherlock Holmes on the big screen.

The truth is, as much as I love movies, it doesn’t come close to my love of books. My husband and I both read alot in our spare time. Well, when I’m not knitting. And yes, I am the person that can’t see a movie without reading the book first. I like to form the story in my own imagination and then see if any of it in the movie looks like I imagined it. Most movies don’t.  Most of the Harry Potter movies were better, at least the first 2 or 3 were. The Twilight movies so far weren’t. (Although sparkly Edward looked pretty cool.) Lord of the Rings was pretty much spot on for how I imagined it. I love it when that happens.

But this love of the written word that my husband and I have has not seemed to rub off on our children. They both hate to read. I was discussing with my friend Glenda the other day about how kids nowadays have no clue how to entertain themselves. All I needed was a book. My mother couldn’t keep me in books I’d read them so fast. But then something happened this week that made me think differently.

Edward is required to read 90 minutes a week for school. He can break it up however he likes and it usually consists of him reading the Bible with Dwayne every night which I have a strong suspicion Daddy does the bulk of the reading. Anyway, he’s chomping at the bit to see the Percy Jackson movie and since it doesn’t come out for another 2 weeks I suggested he read the book first. He balked at the idea but I bought it anyway since I wanted to read it. Well he decided that he would read it for his assigned reading. Last night, we read the first chapter and half of the second.

If you’ve read the books, you know that the book starts with action from almost the very beginning. Well, it was enough to get Edward hooked. He came home from school today and said he wanted to read for his 15 minutes before he did his homework. He read for 30. He was very excited about what was going to happen next and says he wants to try to finish it before the movie comes out. And, when his sister asked him what was going on in the book, his reply was, “I’m not telling you. Read it yourself.”

So maybe it’s not the reading at all that he dislikes but just the content. Well, there are four more Percy Jackson books after this one so we’ll see but I’m willing to bet we make a reader out of him yet. If I can just get him away from the Wii long enough.

