I have two kids. One is 11 and in 6th grade. “The hardest grade ever!” She talks on the phone and watches endless YouTube videos on the computer. For the most part, she’s a typical girl her age. Tests boundaries, struggling with identity, worried that everyone is looking at her and what they are saying. I remember being 11 vaguely. I don’t remember being neurotic. I also don’t remember my mom telling every 5 minutes to do my homework. Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe my mom will comment and totally contradict that statement.

The other kid is 9 and in 3rd grade. And is totally oblivious to everything around him. He kinda lives in his own world. He has to be told repeatedly to do his homework but I think his problem is more of a borderline ADD thing. He gets easily distracted and “forgets” just about everything. Seriously, this kid can take off his shoes, get five steps away, I say, “Hey put your shoes away”, and he’s already forgotten where he took them off.  He’s the kid that would literally leave his head behind if it weren’t attached.

Homework time around here is so much fun. NOT!! If I had a quarter for everytime I say “Do your homework” I would never have to work. The best excuse I get for not having homework done is “I forgot”. Really, you’ve been going to school since you were 5. You’ve had homework everyday for nine months out of the year. How do you forget? Seriously?

So we started taking things away if homework doesn’t get done in a timely manner. So far, Edward’s doing pretty good although I did catch him trying to tell me the other day he didn’t have spelling homework. He has it everyday so I knew he was lying. That didn’t last long, he’s a bad liar. But the prospect of losing his Wii or computer for a week has him rushing to get it finished before dinner.

Now Lili is a different story. She’ll say she has to look up stuff on the computer and then I’ll catch her watching YouTube music videos. So she didn’t get to go to her school’s weekly PumpItUp fundraiser on Friday. She procrastinates and messes around until it’s 11 o’clock at night and she’s still not done. So for another week, she doesn’t get to go to her Friday night thing. Which is good and bad for me. Good because I don’t have to shell out $10 for her to go; bad because now I have to hear her bitch and complain about how I’m a horrible mother because I won’t let her go and she’s going to miss everything. Too Bad.

You see, things are a changing around here. Privileges now have to be earned. If things aren’t done, you won’t be rewarded or you’ll have something taken away. In any case, I really don’t want to punish my kids. It just ends up punishment for me instead. I do know one thing, if someone in the house gets punished from going to see Owl City in April, I’m not punishing myself from that. I’ll just have to make sure I’m good til then.

So how do you get your kids to their homework without it being like a trip to the dentist? What works for your kids? Do you have a secret to getting your kids through the daily ritual of homework? Leave comments please, I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one having this problem.

