If you really know me and have been to my house, it won’t surprise you that I hate doing housework. Absolutely despise it. I can pretty much think of at least 20 other things to do rather than clean a bathroom or sweep and mop. I often have nightmares of one of Dante’s circles of hell being mountains of laundry that need to be washed and folded.

So it’s no surprise when I do get around to sweeping that I have dust bunnies the size of one of my dogs. And I have big dogs. But one part of domesticity that I absolutely love is cooking. My husband was a chef for a number of years and I’ve often said, I’m from New Orleans so naturally, we have awesome food around here. I love to bake. I could get up every morning and bake bread if it weren’t for the small problem of having to actually get up in the morning. Which is probably why I’m writing this as I’m waiting for dough to rise for the 2 king cakes I’m making. At 11 o’clock at night. Luckily, they are on the 2nd rise and only take 20 minutes to bake. But I digress.

As I’ve said, I hate cleaning. But i do it because if we didn’t, none of us would have underwear and I’m really afraid one day that static electricity may bring one of those dust bunnies to life and quite frankly, I really can’t afford to feed another animal.

This brings me to my problem. The kids are finally old enough to help pick up some slack around here but I’m having a hard time getting them to do anything other than the standard picking up there own crap. It’s not that I’m trying to pawn my chores off to them, I just think that knowing how to clean house is a skill that everyone should have. As I continuously tell the people I live with, “I don’t clean not because I don’t know how, I don’t clean because I just don’t want to.” Besides, they mess everything up 10 minutes after I clean it anyway. I really don’t think that if you spend 5 minutes running the brush around the inside of the toilet, you have a right to bitch about how you cleaned the bathroom. Especially when you lift the seat, it’s still obviously dirty. Same thing with sweeping. If there is still dirt and dog hair on the floor, (we have white floors in the kitchen) you obviously didn’t sweep it right.

So my question is this, how do I get others to be a little more motivated to clean and do it right when I have problems getting motivated myself? I guess there is no one right answer to this question but one thing I do know. Tomorrow I have off of work and while I should be taking the day to clean the house, I’m going knit with my friends. After all, the dirt’s not going anywhere. In fact if it got up and walked away, this would all be a moot point. Hmm, maybe that static electricity theory may have some merit after all.

