Tags

I’ve decided that I really love Pinterest. I mean really, really love it. There is no better place to go when you’re looking for something specific. If you don’t have an account yet after all I’ve been extolling the virtues of having an account, go get one NOW. I rarely even Google stuff for ideas or inspiration anymore. I just go lurk around Pinterest.

Lately, I’ve been finding recipes. Recipes for pretty much anything you can think of. In my last post, all those recipes: Pinterest. And lately since I’ve really had to watch our budget, finding budget friendly recipes has never been easier.

Yummy!!

In fact we are having a new recipe tonight from Once a Month Mom. It’s called Sicilian Meatloaf. It’s a rolled meatloaf

stuffed with ham and mozzarella cheese. I know, right?! It has 2 of my required food groups to make an awesome dish: ham (well really bacon, but hey, ham is really close) and cheese.

Tricia Callahan started the blog, Once a Month Mom, in February 2009 and I am kicking myself for not having found it sooner. I am not a once a month cooker by any means but if I were, this woman would be my guru. There is so much info on this blog with recipes, menus, tips on planning,  and how to get started, if you ever wanted to know anything about bulk cooking, they have info on it. And it’s not just Tricia doing all this cooking. She has an entire team of collaborators who each specialize in different areas like diet, vegetarian, gluten & dairy free, baby/toddler, and the one I’m most excited about, whole foods.

A few posts back, I wrote about how I’m really trying to eliminate processed foods in my diet. I’ve also come to realize that it’s never going to fully happen unless I get the rest of the family off processed foods as well, but I had no idea how to even transition in a way that wouldn’t put my family into toxic shock. Well, imagine my surprise when I come across this post on OAMC about how they are slowly transitioning out processed foods and gearing toward a more whole food approach. It’s like these women can read my mind.

4 servings: $5.50. You can’t buy one fast food meal for that.

Now I can transition the whole family to a whole food based diet hopefully without too much of a fuss or possibly without them even noticing. And I ain’t tellin’ either. Although I’m not doing the once a month cooking thing, the website has some awesome recipes that my family will actually eat and not get bored with. Tonight’s dinner for instance cost me about $10 for a family of four, BUT the meat loaf recipe actually makes 2 meatloaves and that also includes the homemade mac & cheese and green beans side I made to go along with it. In all actuality, tonight’s dinner is costing me about $5.50. How can you possibly eat out for that?

But that’s not the best part. Not only did I buy groceries for 7 nights of dinners for under $40 (Seriously! If you have a decently stocked pantry, you don’t have to buy a lot of stuff.), but I know what is going into every bite my family puts into their mouths. And I don’t care who you are or how much you spend or don’t spend on groceries, knowing your kids are healthy and eating healthy things you provide for them is the best feeling in the world.

PS. I got started on this website with Tricia’s 101 Spring Freezer Meals. I highly recommend you check it out. My entire menu for the next week came from this list.

PSS. I actually wrote this before we ate the meal. It was a thumbs up all around. My son’s friend was over for dinner and I had to give the recipe to his mom.

