Tags

,

I have a bunch of single mom friends. I don’t know how they do it. I have a whole new appreciation for the single mom. You see, I’ve been a single mom for 2 weeks and there is one thing I have to say about it: it sucks. I mean really sucks. I’m so exhausted, I need a nap. And a Calgon-take-me-away bath. I seriously want to lock myself in my room, get under the covers and stay there for about three days.

Now for those who know me and don’t know the events that have led up to me being a single mom, let me explain. Don’t worry, Dwayne and I are still happily married. He is now being a chef on a ship in the middle of the gulf, working offshore shifts. Four weeks on, two weeks off. We are in week number three now so it’s getting easier.

The first week I was kind of freaking out. A little overwhelmed and stressed. Not so much with the extra things I have to do like laundry or dishes, but the added stress of I’m the only one now having to do everything for the kids by myself. And they talk a lot. But we’re getting into a routine now. It’s getting better, but again, I’m freaking tired.

My nails look like crap. I haven’t shaved my legs in a week. I have huge bags and dark circles underneath my eyes. I guess what I’m trying to say is I never realized how much I depended on my husband. How much of help he is around the house and with the kids. How much I love him and how much he means to my everyday sanity.

We have 10 more days until he gets to come home and I can’t wait. I can’t wait to see the one person who over the last 15 years has been such an integral part of my life, it took him leaving me for me to realize it. I love you, honey and if you ever leave me for good, you get the kids.

