I know, I know, I haven’t been here in a bit. I’ve promised you some more home remedy reviews and I have them. I’ve just been busy and haven’t been able to get over here as much as I’d like. But I have some interesting things to talk about today so let’s just jump in and get started.

Toothpaste

A while back on one of my new favorite blogs, Crunchy Betty, she did a whole post about homemade toothpaste. At the time, we were out of toothpaste and I really didn’t feel like going to the store to buy one tube of toothpaste (on these days, I would normally just use the kid’s for a couple of days). Dwayne had turned me on to Tom’s of Maine toothpaste when we first started dating so we’ve been using it for years. Going to a homemade toothpaste just seemed like the next step. Especially in my new “make everything because it’s cheaper and better for you” kick that I’ve been on.

My only problem was I didn’t have one of the ingredients, which was glycerin. I started reading the comments wondering if anyone else had made the recipe without it and I was surprised to see a few comments stating that adding glycerin was really only a texture thing and that it coats the teeth and prevents your teeth from “healing themselves”. These comments also linked to several articles stating to the effect that your teeth are bones and that like all the other bones in your body, if properly nourished will heal themselves of things like cavities. I have no clue if this is true or not. I am not a dental expert by any means. I really just wanted to know if I could leave the glycerin out of the recipe. Apparently, I could. So the modified recipe I ended up using, looked something like this:

  • 3 Tablespoons unrefined, virgin coconut oil
  • 3 Tablespoons baking soda
  • 2 packets of stevia sweetner
  • 30-50 drops of peppermint oil, depending on taste
  • 10 drops lavender oil and/or tea tree oil

Basically, you just mix the whole lot up and keep it in an airtight container. I’m on my second batch now. I’ve made different batches for Dwayne and I because you basically put it into a jar and dip your toothbrush into the jar. I love my husband and everything, but I don’t want him dipping his toothbrush into my jar despite that fact that I used tea tree oil in it to keep the bacteria away.

The results: I love this stuff!! It works awesome at keeping my teeth feeling clean all day. My teeth are actually whiter now than when I was using the Tom’s whitening toothpaste. You know that film you have on your teeth when you wake up in the morning? Gone. My mouth actually doesn’t feel gross in the morning. There are a few other things I’ve noticed too. As I said up above, I’m not a dental expert nor do I necessarily buy into the stuff about your teeth healing themselves and I know my sister will probably blast me for it (she does, in fact work in a dental/orthodontist office) but I have a cavity on the side of a back tooth that was starting to bug me and I’ve been putting off going to have it filled because basically, I’m lazy and can’t be bothered. In the last month I’ve been using this homemade toothpaste, it doesn’t hurt. At all. And the two top teeth that were really sensitive when I flossed between them and wanted to make me jump out my skin, that doesn’t bother me anymore either. Now seriously, don’t go telling your dentist I said that using this toothpaste is going to heal all your cavities and you don’t need him anymore, this is just things I’ve noticed. Try it at your own risk.

Deodorant

This one was a little weird for me because I have issues with deodorant in general. Meaning, generally they don’t work that well on me. I find myself constantly catching whiffs of myself which makes me go and put more on. I probably was applying commercial deodorant 2-3 times a day. And I’ve tried everything from the clinical strength ones out there to all natural ones. So I was really on the fence about this. I decided to use a combination of 2 different recipes from the Crunchy Betty site. They can be found here and here. This is the recipe I ended up with.

  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons grated beeswax
  • 4 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 Tablespoon cocoa butter
  • 3 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 20-25 drops essential oil (tea tree, rosemary, lavender, lemon, bergamot, or a mixture of any listed) I used lavender since that’s what I had.

Melt the beeswax and coconut oil on very low heat, whisking often. Once melted, add in the cocoa butter and whisk a few times, then remove from the heat and continue melting. After that’s melted and you have a liquid, sprinkle in the cornstarch and baking soda and continue to whisk well until everything is combined. Add the essential oil(s) and continue to whisk to combine. Place the pan into a cool water bath, and leave for 5 minutes or until it just begins to set up. Spoon the mixture into a clean and sterilized deodorant container or any airtight container of your choice. Put in the freezer to set up for 20-30 minutes.

I actually did put mine in a deodorant container but my bathroom gets lots of afternoon sun and it was too melty for me to use it that way. I dug it out and put it into a plastic snap lid container.

My results: Still kinda on the fence about this one. I liked that it didn’t really cost me anything extra to make since I had most of the ingredients on hand. So that was a plus. The downside is it doesn’t seem to work any better than commercial deodorant for me. I still find myself applying it 2 or 3 times a day. Also, it’s a little greasy and takes a minute to soak into my skin but that could be from the cocoa butter. Originally, one of the recipes calls for shea butter. I didn’t have any shea butter but I had a bunch of cocoa butter so I used that instead. I’d like to make a batch with shea butter and see if it solves that issue. The bottom line: I’ll probably continue to use the homemade deodorant. I like the idea that I make it so I know what’s in it. It doesn’t work any better or worse than the store bought kind and the fact that I don’t have to pay extra for it is more appealing to me than not. And it’s not like it takes that much effort. It took me a whole 10 minutes to make. Also, I’ve been using it for about a month and apply it at least twice a day and have barely made a dent in it. It takes very little to cover your pits.

I do have to give props to the Crunchy Betty website. There are a ton of totally awesome recipes on her site and she even has a book out about getting rid of acne naturally. I’ve found tons of great things and it’s become my go to website for all things natural (or “crunchy” as she calls it). I highly recommend checking out her site. I’ll have more good things to come from her site too as I’m in the middle of going “no poo“. Don’t worry, it’s not as bad as it sounds. And hopefully, if all goes well, you’ll hear all about it a couple of weeks.

