I haven’t washed my hair in 4 weeks. I know, gross, right? Well I should probably clarify that a bit. I haven’t washed my hair with shampoo in 4 weeks. Before you ask, no my hair is not a big greasy, matted, dread-lock looking mess. In fact, it’s quite soft and silky, shiny and well behaved.

A while back while perusing my favorite website for all things homemade and natural, Crunchy Betty, I came across a post she did about “no pooing”. I found it pretty interesting given that I spent a lot of money for hair products and was never really satisfied with how my hair looked and felt. Plus, I’ve always had an itchy, flaky scalp and could never find anything that worked to control it. Dandruff products would help my scalp but would leave my hair dull and dried out. And products designed to make my hair gorgeous, made my scalp break out and itch like crazy. So I thought, what do I have to lose. I mean, Crunchy Betty hasn’t steered me wrong yet so maybe there was something to this “no pooing” thing. She claimed that by “washing” your hair with a baking soda/water solution and doing a final rinse with an apple cider vinegar/water solution, you could have gorgeous hair and an itch free scalp. She had me at “itch free scalp”.

For those of you too lazy to head over to the Crunchy Betty website and check out what she did, here is how I’ve gone “no poo” for the last month and the supplies you’ll need.

  • 2 squirt bottles-like a ketchup or mustard bottle either purchased or recycled from something you have on hand (washed thoroughly of course). I used two sports bottles from the supply of never ending ones that multiply in my Tupperware cabinet.
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • measuring cup
  • permanent marker

To make my life easier and since the 2 bottles I picked were now designated hair bottles, I put 1 cup of water in one, and 2 cups of  water in the other. With the permanent marker, I made a mark at the water lines then dumped the water out. Then before heading to the shower, I put 1 tablespoon of baking soda in the bottle with the 1 cup water line and 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar in the bottle with the 2 cup water line. In the shower, I wet my hair like normal. I then take the bottle with the baking soda and fill it with warm water to the line. I do it in the shower because the first time I didn’t and pre-made both bottles. Dumping ice cold water solution on your head in the shower is not my idea of a good time. You want to make sure to saturate your scalp and roots with the solution and use all of it all over your head. Then scrub your head and scalp just as if you have shampoo on your head for about 2 minutes. I then leave it for a few minutes, then rinse my hair like normal. When I’m done with everything and about to get out, I fill the ACV bottle to the line and squirt that all over my head concentrating on the ends. Many people leave this rinse in but I found it leaves a coating on my hair and made it feel heavy and greasy so I rinse it out.

Now there are a few “rules” you kinda have to follow before your hair gets all gorgeous and stuff.

  1. Your hair is going to look like crap for about 2 weeks so plan on bad hair days and lots of pony tails for that time.
  2. For the first 2 weeks or so, you should only “wash” your hair every other day or every third day. This allows for the oils your scalp produces to be able to get down to the tips of your hair.
  3. Your hair will probably be oily at the scalp and dry at the ends for this transition time. It gets better, I promise.
  4. Depending on the length of your hair, it may take longer than 2 weeks for your hair to get over the transition period.
  5. You should really give this about a month before you give up and quit. Everyone’s hair is different. MOST people have great hair in about 10-14 days. For me, it was about day 12. This is when I thought my hair looked really good but it wasn’t until about a week later when I started rinsing the ACV out that it became awesome.
  6. Once you hit the stage where your hair is all transitioned, you can “wash” your hair this way everyday.

Well, there it is. I really love the way my hair has turned out and honestly, I probably won’t go back to shampoo. Not only am I saving a bunch of money on specialty shampoos and anti-frizz solutions, but my scalp is no longer itchy. At all. I’ve never been happier with my hair. It’s well behaved, straightens beautifully, and is very shiny. So no more poo is my new slogan. Try it. What have you got to lose?

