Tags

, , , , , , ,

I rarely ever post recipes on here for two reasons. One, I’m kinda lazy and it’s much easier for me to post a link and tell you what I did to change it up. And two, I’m not good at telling people recipes. Sometimes I accidently leave things out.

With my cooking experience and my husband’s, sometimes I just assume people know how to do things and I leave steps out. I don’t mean to. It just happens. It’s so bad that one of my girlfriends who asks me for recipes always asks if I’m sure I gave her all the steps. So here goes, I’m going to try to give you my adaptation of sour cream chicken enchiladas from the melding of 3 different recipes. Let me know if you try it or make any changes of your own below in the comments. This dish was a hit and got thumbs up from everyone including the two pickiest eaters of the house. Enjoy!

Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

All that cheezy bubbly goodness

Filling:

  • 1 pound boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 Tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/2  small can green chilies
  • 1 clove garlic chopped
  • 1 cup Monterrey Jack cheese

Sauce:

  • 3 Tablespoons butter or oil
  • 2 Tablespoons mince onion
  • 1 garlic clove chopped
  • 1/2-1 jalapeno chopped
  • 1/2 small can green chilies
  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • lime juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Additional ingredients:

  • 12 corn or flour tortillas (taco sized ones)
  • 1 cup Monterrey Jack cheese

Preheat oven to 350. Season the chicken breasts with the salt, pepper, lime juice and cumin. Heat a skillet on medium heat and add about 1 tablespoon of oil or spray with non stick cooking spray. Place chicken in pan and cook on each side approximately 5 minutes on each side or until cooked all the way through. Shred chicken with two forks or chop very finely and set aside. In the same pan the chicken was cooked in, add another tablespoon of oil or spray with non stick spray. Add garlic and green chilies and cook for about a minute. Add shredded chicken back to the pan and mix. Set aside. (I just want to add a note that my kids really don’t like green chilies so I run them through my food processor to make them more sauce like instead of the little chunks. Still get the flavor, just not the whining about green stuff in their food.)

For the sauce: Heat a sauce pan to medium heat and add the butter or oil. When hot add the onion and the jalapeno. Cook for about 5 minutes or until the onion starts to look translucent. Add the rest of the can of green chilies and the garlic and cook for another minute or so until you can smell the garlic. Next add the cornstarch and stir until all the cornstarch  is absorbed by the oil and let cook for another minute or so. Add the chicken broth, whisking as you add until all the cornstarch is dissolved. Heat until the sauce is bubbly and thickened. Turn off the heat and whisk in the sour cream, cumin, and lime juice. Add salt and pepper to taste.

For the assembly: I had to use 2 pans to make mine and I actually ended up with 15 enchiladas. It really depends on how much filling you put in your tortillas. If you use corn tortillas, you are going to need to heat them up. I have a gas stove and usually just turn on a burner and lay them right on the little rack and flip them over every couple of minutes. You can also heat them up in a dry pan on a med high heat. The thing with the corn tortillas is that they are not very pliable right out of the package and therefore don’t bend very well so you need to heat them. You can also fry them for a minute in a little oil but that makes them more fattening, but oh so good. The flour tortillas, you really don’t need to heat up but if you do, you can use the same methods. Spoon about 1/2 cup of the sauce in your casserole dish so your enchiladas don’t stick to your pan. Place one tortilla on your work surface and spread about 2 tablespoons of filling down the center horizontally. Sprinkle about a tablespoon of cheese on top. Roll up cigar style around the filling and place seam down on the sauce. When all the tortillas are rolled and in the pan, top with the rest of the sauce and the remaining cup of cheese. Bake for about 25 minutes or until nice and bubbly and just starting to brown on top. Yummy!!

