Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve broken up with gluten, dairy and sugar again. I know what you’re thinking. Why did i even get back together with them in the first place? Because I’m a sucker for all things creamy, cheesy, doughy and sweet. And in reconciling with my long lost friends (or so I thought), my weight loss has completely stalled and I’m stuck at 195 (which is still down 30 pounds this year so, yeah me). In searching the internets for tasty ways to incorporate yumminess in my diet without having to sacrifice flavor as well as keeping away from my aforementioned frienemies, I turned to Pinterest. Again.

I’ve had quite a few friends who have made the gluten free cauliflower crust found here, on eat.drink.smile. It looked really good so for dinner last night, we had pizza and I had a this gluten free crust version. It came out pretty good except for the fact that I forgot to spray the pan and it stuck like crazy. I wanted a crust that wasn’t so heavy though and didn’t have so much cheese. I’m lactose intolerant and although cheese doesn’t usually doesn’t bother me in small amounts, a whole cup wouldn’t do my stomach any good unless I took a Lactaid first.

So in my quest to come up with an alternative that wasn’t so cheesy, I came up with this recipe. It has a little more doughy flavor than the other recipe and cooks up a bit crispier. I was able to eat it like a regular piece of pizza. I used a commercial gluten free flour blend but you can use what ever flour you want since it’s just to mix with the egg as a binder for the cauliflower.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

1 cup cauliflower, raw florets chopped into 1 inch chunks

1tsp garlic

2 Tablespoons Parmesan Cheese

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp Italian Seasonings

1/4 tsp pepper

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 egg

1/2 cup gluten free flour

Preheat oven to 450.

Add raw cauliflower to a food processor and pulse to fine grains. (If you do not have a food processor, you can take the whole cauliflower and grate it with a cheese grater, to make the fine grains.) Place in a microwave safe dish with a lid and microwave 6-8 minutes. Do not add water before steaming. You want the cauliflower to steam in it’s own moisture. Let cauliflower cool for a bit and add the rest of the ingredients. Stir together thoroughly. The mixture should be stiff. dump out on a grease cookie sheet (even better if you have a silicon mat for a liner, make sure to grease as well). Pat mixture out into a disc shape about 9 inches and about 1/4 inch thick.

Bake 10-15 minutes until top just starts to brown.

Remove from oven. Add toppings and return to oven for 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Enjoy!!

I hope you enjoy my recipe. Let me know in the comments below.

Note: I kept the recipe original to how I made it today but I’m thinking I may cut back the flour to 1/3 cup. It was a little dry and I think cutting a little bit of flour may correct that but still keep the crispiness.

