Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last year, I made the resolution that I was going to try to get healthier in 2012. I started running again and working out and, yes, eating healthier too. I did pretty good, lost about 35 pounds. But the stinking holidays killed me. Between Thanksgiving and New Years, I ate bad. I mean really bad. Hubby got a new job and we weren’t poor anymore so I was a little lax on the whole menu planning/cooking thing. And gained 10 pounds back. And started having tummy issues again. And just feeling like crap in general.

I don’t know why I do it. Fall off the wagon where it pertains to food. I haven’t had a cigarette in almost 4 years but I can’t quit scarfing down sugar and bread like there’s no tomorrow. Well, I know why. It’s because I’m from New Orleans, I like to eat, and deep down inside no matter what my weight or size is, I’ll always be a fat girl wanting to pig out on things that aren’t good for me. I just can’t help it. I mean, I don’t know why I go to the dark side when I know it’s going to make me feel bad. I’m going to bloat up, I won’t be able to breathe, my stomach will revolt. You would think that knowing all those things, it would be easy to say no to a latte from Starbucks knowing damn well I’m lactose intolerant and have no Lactaid in my purse. But no, I’m just a glutton with a sweet tooth. So I decided not to fight it but to try to work with it.

This year, instead of doing 4 Hour Body like I did last year and having a hard time not being able to have sweets, I’m just going totally Paleo instead. I’ll still be eating very similar: no grains, no dairy, no refined sugars. I’ll just be adding fruits and natural sweeteners like honey and maple syrups to the mix. Because let me tell you, nothing can ruin all good intentions of eating clean like a good PMS day. I need something to stave off the fat bitch inside that wants to eat the whole cookie jar full of Oreos.

This week I tried a little experiment and made me some Chocolate Coffee Banana Donuts from Paleomg! Not only were they awesome, but it totally satisfied my sweet tooth at night. I will definitely be making those again. Tomorrow. Because I already ate all the ones I made on Sunday. Well, I had help but it was mostly me.

So I think if I can totally eat sweets while I’m dieting but do it on a level that won’t make me feel all blah and not affect my tummy, I may be able to stick with it a little better. We’ll see. Anything’s possible at this point.

 

