Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So far, I’m loving this Paleo thing. I can get on board with any food lifestyle change that lets me have yummy treats to satisfy my sweet tooth. And so far, I’ve lost 5 pounds in the last 2 weeks. (Today was weigh in day.) I’m also running about 4 or 5 times a week as well doing the C25K app from Six to Start called Zombies, Run! 5K Training. It’s been a hoot to run to and if you’re bored with the regular run/walk plain old running apps, give it a try. It’s 50% off right now. They also have their regular Zombies, Run! app which starts at the 5K distance and is also a game. It’s a lot of fun too. If you can out run the zombies.

The finished product. All honey golden and cinnamony yumminess.

The finished product. All honey golden and cinnamony yumminess.

About a week ago, I mentioned on my Facebook page that I had made a Paleo crunch cereal. Several people expressed interest in the recipe. I had to get up off my butt and go to the grocery store and gather all the ingredients but I finally managed to get it done. And the crunchy, yummy goodness made. My in house wannabe photographer took the photos for me with her new camera she got for Christmas. Hopefully they look a little better than the ones from my regular point and shoot.

You can eat this as a snack, a pre-workout/run treat or as a breakfast cereal with some almond or coconut milk. I’ve had it as all three. Today. Seriously, this stuff is awesome. I use about a 1/4-1/2 cup as a serving. This recipe will make about seven 1/2 cup servings give or take. The measurements aren’t that precise. I just kind of eyeball it. I get all the ingredients from the health food bulk section of my grocery store and all the nuts, seeds and coconut cost me less than $4 and usually will last me a week. If I can keep the hubby out of it. Enjoy. ingredients

Ingredients

  • 1 cup raw slivered or sliced almonds
  • 1 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp raw honey

Instructions

Preheat oven to 325. Mix all the nuts, seeds, coconut, and cinnamon in a bowl.

All spread out and ready to hit the oven

All spread out and ready to hit the oven

Combine vanilla and honey in separate bowl. If honey is very stiff, you can heat for a few seconds in the microwave. Stir honey mixture in with seed mixture and combine until all the seed mixture is coated with the honey mixture. Spread out on a baking sheet greased with coconut oil or lined with parchment or a silpat mat. Bake for about 15 minutes or until golden stirring every 3-5 minutes. Let cool completely, then break apart and store in an airtight container.

I promise, this is totally worth the effort. You can also add and substitute any other nuts and seeds you may wish as well as add any dried fruit to the finished product. (I wouldn’t advise baking the fruit but it can be added in after the crunch has cooled.) Dried cranberries or cherries would be great in this. I could also see myself adding some dark chocolate chips as well to make it a bit more interesting. Hope you like it and leave a comment on any variations you make. I would love to hear some other ideas.

